THE RODEO IDIOT ENGINE «Malaise» LP/CD preorders -
Stream two tracks here -
Interview -

"Bayonne-based quintet THE RODEO IDIOT ENGINE have been nothing but unstoppable since their very first steps in 2009, tirelessly sculpting a signature sound torn between the most abrasive sides of chaotic hardcore, post-metal or screamo. After gaining a growing reputation all over Europe due to their 250 staggering, seizure-inducing live shows, the band returned to Amaury Sauvé’s studio in Laval during summer 2015 to track «Malaise», their third full-length and follow-up to 2013’s «Consequences».

While most acts tend to soften with age, the band’s work has only become darker over the years. Opener “Le Parfum” sets the tone, with merciless, spasmodic rhythms morphing into bleak, slow-paced heaviness and emotionally-charged vocals screamed to the breaking point. From the straight-up barrage of grinding yet melodic tracks (“Carrying Icons”, “Final Relief”) to more downtempo, menacing ones (“Syngue Sabour”, “Thousand Of Nails”), «Malaise» is a dense album with rich atmospheres and structures. On these nine tracks THE RODEO IDIOT ENGINE’s trademark sound has turned more expressive, resulting in nothing but the band’s strongest material to date."

  • Recorded and mixed by Amaury Sauvé at La Senelle/The Apiary, Laval
  • Mastered by Nick Zampiello at New Alliance East Mastering, Boston
  • Artwork photos by Louis Triol

Tracklist :
1 - Le Parfum
2 - Carrying Icons
3 - Passing Daemons
4 - Syngue Sabour
5 - Je Me Noierai
6 - Ildoak
7 - Makurrak
8 - Final Relief
9 - Thousand Of Nails